Zig-Zag Socks with Short Row Heel

Knitting, project 128. Date completed: 5/3/2007

These socks were put on hold for the baby knitting done in April. They are just perfect for me. I love the chevron pattern and the short cuff. I modified the heel with short row techniques. These will be worn with clogs.

Pattern: My gauge was 4 sts and 6 rows per inch on US 7 (4.5 mm) double-pointed needles. I used these resources to engineer the socks:

• Violet Green Zig Zag Socks Pattern
• Lucia’s Zig & Zag Sockulator (sock calculator)
• Sherman (Short Row) Heel numbers from hipknitism
• Shaping short row heel without holes, misocrafy tutorial
• 3-needle bind off from Wolf and Turtle

Yarn: 170 yds yarn: 2 balls Patons SWS (70% Wool, 30% Soy), 2.80 oz/80 g, 110 yd/100 m. Color: 70530, Natural Geranium

Finished size: Knit to fit Woman’s US Shoe Size 12: foot length and ball of foot 10.5 inches. Sock foot circumference 9.6 inches, sock length 6.8 inches
128_zig_socks.jpg

The stripes do not match across the pair of socks. I debated about this, but then decided it didn’t matter enough to me.

128_close.jpg

Stripes! I love you, Stripes! And chevrons, too!

