254. Noro HDC Beanie Hat

Crochet, project 254. Completed 6/25/2010

Shown on 22-inch head

PATTERN
by CD Cooper, CDC Designs

MADE FOR Myself

SIZE: Adult L, 22-inch head. 8.5″ long (slouchy on a 19-inch head)

GAUGE: Not important; working from the top down until I had 66 hdc sts

MATERIALS

  • 1 ball Noro Silk Garden Lite (45% Silk, 45% Kid Merino, 10% Lamb’s Wool), 50g / 1.75 oz, 136 yds per ball; Color 2034: Black.
  • Crochet Hook – US Size I -9 (5.5 mm)

NOTES
I made this loose-fitting beanie while on vacation without using a pattern (didn’t have any with me). But I had read a tip that a hat crown should be about as large as your hand, which turned out to be 66 hdc in the round. It took one morning and one ball of yarn to make a great hat. And it kept me warm that night while I was kayaking on the bay.

