Banana Oat Smoothie

See Smoothie Basics for details on ingredients / methods.

Today’s smoothie was inspired by the Peanut Butter Bomb smoothie on ohsheglows. I added mixed greens (“Deep Green Blends – Power” by Earthbound Farms) and cottage cheese for protein. It has about 8 g fiber, 20 g protein, and no added sugar. You could use only 1/2 banana in this smoothie.

Makes about 20 oz.

 

1/4 cup organic uncooked rolled oats
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/2 cup organic fat-free cottage cheese (such as Humboldt Creamery brand)
50 g (about 1.7 cups) mixed greens (baby spinach, baby red and green chards, and baby kales)
1 large banana, peeled (about 5 oz)
1 Tablespoon sunflower seed butter

Grind the oatmeal into a powder in the blender (I used the “crumb” setting”). Add remaining ingredients to blender; puree until smooth. Pour in a glass over ice.

DISCLOSURE: This post is not sponsored by anyone. I paid for the products listed here and only share the names of products I enjoy using in my own kitchen. This is my personal blog, and I am not compensated to create posts.

